Altenew Educator Certification Program (AECP) – Irresistible Inking Techniques

I love watercolor. Am I really great at it? No.. But i love it! I was excited about Altenew’s Irresistible Inking Techniques class as it had a few examples using water ink.. LOVE!

I have quite a few September birthdays so I’m focused on getting those out the door. I knew I wanted to do a floral with an acrylic block inked background. I’ve tried it before and it didn’t quite work out, but this time I’m liking it.

I started off measuring out my piece by placing the image from the Engraved Flowers stamp set to the back of the acrylic block. This allowed me to see exactly how much of the block to ink up with each colour.

I inked the bloom portion of the block with Altenew’s Rubellite ink and the section with the leaves and stem with Bamboo.

I spritzed the block with a bit of water and pressed it down unto my card panel.

After letting the ink dry, I cleaned the block, flipped it around to the side with the stamp and inked it up with Versamark Ink ad stamped down into the coloured section. I heat embossed the image using Brutus Monroe’s Gilded Embossing powder.

I wanted to add a bit more depth. To the flower so i smooshed Altenew’s Razzleberry and Parrot inks onto my craft mat and using my Jane Davenport water brush I added some of each of the darker colours in certain sections.

Essentially I followed the grooves from the stamp and added colour for highlighting.

After drying the image I added a Happy Birthday sentiment from Altenew’s Birthday Builder stamp. Set. Then I trimmed the panel down to approximately 3.75×5 inches and adhered it to a gold foil Cardstock panel. Measuring approximately 4×5.25 inches.

I adhered everything to a card base measuring approximately 4.25×5.5 inches. I wanted a bit of bling so I added some of Studio Katia’s Sparkling Crystals.

All done!

Altenew Stamps:

Engraved Flowers

Birthday Builder

Altenew Crisp Dye Inks:

Parrot

Bamboo

Rubellite

Razzleberry

Jet Black

Other Supplies:

– Neenah Solar White cardstock

– Brutus Monroe’s Gilded Embossing Powder

– Studio Katia’s Sparkling Crystals

– Ranger’s Glossy Accents

– Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue

– Ranger’s Multi Media Matte

– Tonic Deluxe Adhesive Nuvo Glue

– Craft Foam

Tools:

– Krystal Katana Jewel Picker

– My Sweet Petunia’s MISTI Stamping Tool

– Tim Holtz Mini Comfort Trimmer

– Simon Says Stamp’s Acrylic Blocks

– Jane Davenport’s Waterbrushes

– Simon Says Stamp’s Grid Transparency

1 thought on “Altenew Educator Certification Program (AECP) – Irresistible Inking Techniques”

  1. This is so pretty and I love the coordinating stamped envelope.
    Thank you for entering your fabulous work to the AECP assignment gallery. Well done!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.